[9/20] 34th Annual Tejano Music Awards – Lila Cockrell Theatre, San Antonio

TejanoSaturday, Sept. 20, will be one of the biggest nights of the year for Tejano music. Artists from all over the country will descend on San Antonio for the 34th Annual Tejano Music Awards to honor their own.

This year, Austin artists made a strong showing in several categories. Grammy Award-winning legend Ruben Ramos is nominated for Male Vocalist of the Year, Angel Gonzalez (Angel y Vimana) is up for Best New Male Artist and Laura McGill of San Marcos-based La Distancia (presented by Austin Vida last year at the Flamingo Cantina) is nominated for Best New Female Artist. Angel and Laura will also be presenters for the Best New Group award.

Presented by the Texas Talent Musicians Association, awards will be given in categories such as Song of the Year, Album of the Year, Male Vocalist of the Year, etc. And as with any award show, there will also be performances by legends, veterans and rising stars. Those scheduled to perform include Elida Reyna Y Avante, Ruben Ramos, Shelly Lares, Grupo Solido, Los DesperadoZ, Stephanie Lynn, Jaime y Los Chamacos, Jimmy Edward, Stefani Montiel, and many more.

The festivities get started early with the red carpet at 5:15 p.m. at the Lila Cockrell Theatre in downtown San Antonio. The show begins at 7 p.m. and updates will be available on the official Facebook page.

Piper LeMoine

Piper LeMoine manages all things technical, promotional, and creative at Austin's own Rancho Alegre Radio, a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization dedicated to preserving and promoting Tejano and Conjunto music. She also co-hosts Rancho Alegre, playing Tejano and Conjunto music every Monday from 9-10 a.m. on KOOP 91.7 FM in Austin and online at koop.org.

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook