Pacifika frontwoman Silvana Kane to release solo album in November

Silvana Kane is the vocalist with acclaimed, Juno nominated, Latin pop ensemble Pacifica. Born in Lima, Peru, Kane’s father moved the family to Canada when she was seven years of age. She learned English and picked up on both her parents’ musical training, studying violin and piano. After traveling through Europe and living in Toronto, Kane returned to Vancouver where she connected with the members of Pacifika who went on to release two critically acclaimed albums, Asuncion and Supermagique.

Kane will be stepping aside from Pacifika temporarily to release a new solo album, La Jardinera, via Six Degrees Records on November 13. Named after a famous song by folklorist and ethnomusicologist Violeta Parra, the album is comprised predominantly of cover songs by her favorite Latin American singers and composers—including Chabuca Granda, Mercedes Sosa and of course Violeta Parra. La Jardinera also features Kane’s Pacifika bandmates Adam Popowitz on guitar and banjo, Toby Peter on stand-up and electric bass, and Malcolm Aiken on trumpet. Kane is currently preparing for a small theater tour in support of La Jardinera.

Listen to “Cruces” from La Jardinera below and download the track directly from the bandcamp player.

La Jardinera Tracklisting:

  1. Cardo o ceniza
  2. Como la cigarra
  3. Cruces
  4. Duerme negrito
  5. La jardinera
  6. Yo vendo unos ojos negros
  7. Soy pan soy paz soy mas
  8. Todo Cambia
  9. Yo vengo a ofrecer mi corazo’n
  10. Vida llena

Austin Vida Staff

Entertainment and culture in Texas, with a Latino twist.

More Posts - Twitter - Facebook - YouTube